I have a question regarding deactivating a cost center in transaction OKENN.
What happen if I deactivate a valid cost center? What affect does it have on reports from former years, will the deactivated cost center still be displayed with all its data? Will there be any errors or will not all data be displayed?
Thanks in advance,
Neither deactivating nor deleting a Cost Centre will not have any effect on your past data.
When you deactivate, you cannot post any data to it from the time it is deactivated, but the Cost Centre exists in the system.
The earliest you can delete a Cost Centre is from the start of the next fiscal year as per your Fiscal Year Variant. However dependant data will continue to exist in CSSL/COKA, etc., for the current and past years and will not affect reporting.
However unlikely it may be, if you face issues, recreate / activate the Cost Centre at a later date.