cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A question over the link between materials and substances

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello everyone,

As we know, the data of substances in EHS module is connected to the data of materials in MM module.

But If one material is a mixture, and it has several components of substances in it. How can I make several substances connected with one material in SAP release 6.0?

And the 2nd question is:

Is that possible to make one substance identified by several UN numbers?

This is my first time to come here. I really hope that somebody could help me.

Thank you in advance !

Best regards,

Li

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Li,

Just to add to whatever have been already explained, you can very well estabilish 1:n & n:1 relations between material and specifications. There is no restriction whatsoever. But, finally it boils down to the reason for the linking. If it's purely for logistics requirements and not merely for referencing, then Bill of substance is the best bet as already explained.

Regards,

Pavan

christoph_bergemann
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hello Li

in addition to what Jayakumar and Pavan explained:

Normally you have the link Material (many materials to one real_sub) <=> Real_Sub. Now using one of the so called properties (value assignments) you can create the BOS (Bill of substance) as explained by Jayakumar using the BOM. That means you can use there again REAL_SUBs having a material link to maintain this property.

The use of the "correct/right" property is in most cases critical in EH&S as normally you would like to use this BOS to perform further tasks.