Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ALE IDoc Conversion Rule or BADI

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I'm new to ALE IDoc. I have a requirement to hide some sensitive data field for the HR information when outbound the Idoc.

Example, I need to outbound the IT8 Basic Pay with payscale area etc but not with the basic pay amount. I can convert the basic pay amount to zero when the idoc is being created.

I've searched through some information and found out that there are several ways to achieve it. However, I'm not sure which one is a better way.

Is it using the Conversion Rule (BD62) or using Badi or Idoc Reduction method is better?

Kindly give me some hints as I'm very confuse of which one is the better solution.

Many thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Former Member
0 Kudos

IDoc reduction is to be used when you want to drop off groups of optional segments. The conversion rules are best suited to manipulate values (like code conversion etc)

Since you decided to make the value zero for basic pay, the conversion rule is better suited from also future maintenance perspective. I wouldn't suggest going to a BADI unless you have something more complex to achieve

5 REPLIES 5

Former Member
0 Kudos

IDoc reduction is to be used when you want to drop off groups of optional segments. The conversion rules are best suited to manipulate values (like code conversion etc)

Since you decided to make the value zero for basic pay, the conversion rule is better suited from also future maintenance perspective. I wouldn't suggest going to a BADI unless you have something more complex to achieve

0 Kudos

Hi Vishnu,

thanks for the reply. If I use conversion rule, should I need to use the user exit as well? Do you have the steps for the conversion rule?

Thanks.