Career Corner Discussions
Join the conversation in the Career Corner group to ask career-related questions, find approaches to building skills, and seek career advancements.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Learning SAP Basis Administration

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi everyone,

I would like to get your opinion about starting my career in SAP. I am an Building Architect with no experience in IT or SAP. I enrolled to SAP Basis Netweaver Administration. My wife is an ABAP programmer and she thought me a little bit of ABAP and Security Administration. I am a bit familiar with SAP screens.

Do you think it would be easy for me to learn Basis by attending training? Is there any other way to learn it easily?

Thanks for your help.

Marlon R.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

JPReyes
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi  Marlon,

I wrote a blog about this sometime ago, You can read,

http://scn.sap.com/community/netweaver-administrator/blog/2010/05/11/back-to-basis

Regards, Juan

31 REPLIES 31

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Marlon,

Yes formal but it has to be good ;training would help and so would having a decent idea of ABAP and Security.. I will toss in having a bit of functional knowledge as well.

The important thing to know and appreciate  (and this is something I told a bunch guys and gals when I trained them in Basis a  few months back 🙂 ) is that SAP Basis is the very basis on which SAP stands and hence the name !! It is the basic element. So it is very important a highly critical.

SAP Basis is huge and includes knowledge in following areas SAP application, OS,DB.Haadware,Networking etc. Though all of it is not needed when you start.Many things you would learn with experience and no training can teach you those things. Again there are various SAP applications,operating systems and databases.

Basis is very challenging and at the same time if you are good can be highly rewarding.

So welcome to our World 🙂

Regards.

Ruchit.

0 Kudos

Hi Ruchit,