SAP for Oil, Gas, and Energy Discussions
Connect with fellow SAP users to share best practices, troubleshoot challenges, and navigate the evolving energy landscape. Join the conversation today!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP oil&gas - where to start - Any advice on manuals/guides

cecil_dsouza
Participant
0 Kudos

Hello Gurus

I am new to Oil and gas and intend to pursue this segment for the future. I am an experienced computer professional (10+ years) I am fairly well versed with SAP-MM although experience is limited. I am keen to make a career in SAP Oil and Gas - possibly Upstream or Downstream whichever is possible to learn. I am in the midst of registering myself for a course  in Oil&Gas Accounting or Joint venture analyst. I have not found any course for Downstream. With that said, I have even rented a SAP Oil&gas server to practice. The problem is that I need to get some guidance as to how to go about this in a methodical way.

I have started to read the manuals along side the SAP - JVA guide that they use for training at SAP. However, there is no step by step guide/manual provided by SAP to really practice or build in order to learn and get a from grasp of the subject. I have found some configuration steps in the SAP Oil&Gas online help files or MySAPOil&Gas while reading. However, the reading of the manuals and online help is only theoretical. One needs some exercises to be performed in order to get a grasp of what is what. Where to start, what to configure outside of basic set-up and why?.

Would anybody be able to guide me as to how to pursue my goals?.

1. Is it possible to learn JVA by using the SAP training guide?.

2. Is it possible to learn TSW by using the SAP training guide?.

3. Does the system need to be configured and set-up before one can use the SAP Oil&Gas server?. - What specific configuration would be required for Downstream outside of the default configuration after installation.